SearchNotify Me
Sign up for notification alerts
via email or cell with Twitter or Nixle

Home Twitter Follow Nixle

Election Process:

There are four councilpersons and one mayor elected at large with four-year terms. The filing time for a position on the city council is generally mid-October through mid-November. (Exact times are publicly noticed.) If there are more than two candidates for a position, a primary is held on the first Tuesday in February. The general election is held on the first Tuesday in April. City Council meets as soon as possible after this election, certifies the election results, swears in new members and makes council appointments.






Jack Pahlmann

City Council

Mayor Jack Pahlmann was appointed Mayor in August, 2012.  He was first elected in 2000 as Mayor Pro-Tem.  His term will expire in April, 2015. Mayor Pahlmann oversees the Police, Fire, Health, Legal, Municipal Court, Animal Control, Economic Development, Planning & Zoning, Emergency Management, Building Inspector, & Safety/Public Information Departments for the City of West Plains. He can be reached by calling 417-256-7176, or by e-mail at mayor@westplains.net.


Royce Fugate

Councilman Royce Fugate was appointed in October, 2012 to fill an unexpired seat. His term will expire in April, 2016. Royce oversees Water/Sewer/Wastewater Treatment, Electric, Refuse, Engineering/Engineering Construction, Planning & Zoning (including the Building Official).  Royce also serves on the Planning Commission Board as Council Representative.  He can be reached by calling 417-256-2768 or by e-mail at royce.fugate@westplains.net.

Brenda Smith


Mayor Pro-Tem Brenda Smith was first elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014. Her term will expire in April, 2018. Brenda oversees City Hall, Administration, Civic Center, Tourist Development, Purchasing/Warehouse, & the Housing Authority. She can be reached by calling 417-256-0873 or by e-mail at brenda.smith@westplains.net.


Councilman Mike Topliff was elected in 2013 to a four year term.  His term will expire in April, 2017,  Mike oversees the Street Department, Cemetery, Airport, Shop & Street Construction. He can be reached by called 417-256-1080 or by email at mike.topliff@westplains.net.


Councilman Josh Cotter was elected in 2015 to a four year term.  His term will expire in April, 2019,  Josh oversees the Parks Department, Transit, Senior Citizens Center, Winter Sports Complex, Library, Tourist Development & Municipal Golf Course.  Josh can be reached by email at josh.cotter@westplains.net.